Parenting with “God” Day 8

Day 8 of 280

Remember this is from Parenting by Design from youversion.com

Today we are talking about Creating “Margin in our lives”

This lesson to day is more about parents than the children we raise. It speaks of how well we take care of ourselves so we can be better capable of caring for our loved ones.

As mothers specially we tend to do everything ourselves around the house. When we do this how much time do we leave for us to spend time alone with God. That time alone with him is what makes us capable of handling all the things we do in a day’s time. I have been told more times than I can count that I need to care for myself before so that I can take care of my children. I am learning that this is true, however I feel like as mothers we tend to let our needs go unmet that also includes our time with God. We let the world creep in by not delegating some things out to our children.

I think we fear how they will respond if we ask them to do some extra things around the house. I know for me personally I do not want to set one of my girls off and that some times stops me from asking them to do more around the house. But then I stop and think how will they ever learn if I am always afraid of setting them off. I ask them to do more around the house and yes I get the NO I will not, or the hollering that is not fair and all the other things as well. However I am learning that I cannot be afraid of their response to everything that I ask them to.

I have started to look at this way once a child starts school they follow the rules there and comply with their teachers for their request. I am no different than the teacher at school if they can bend over and pick a piece of paper up off the floor and put it in the trash can for her then they can certainly do it for me and a few small other things around the house as well.

So mothers delegate some things out and take time for you to spend with God, even if it is while sitting in a tub of warm relaxing water. Just pray and read the bible and speak to him while you take a load off and let someone else help with the housework. I will admit that I fall short in this area……

Reference verses

Acts 6:2-3

2 Then the twelve called the multitude of the disciples unto them, and said, It is not reason that we should leave the word of God, and serve tables.3 Wherefore, brethren, look ye out among you seven men of honest report, full of the Holy Ghost and wisdom, whom we may appoint over this business.

Have you heard God’s voice today, if not he asked me to tell you that he loves you!!

Leave a Reply

