Parenting with “God” Day 3

Day 3 of 280

Remember this is from Parenting by Design from youversion.com

Today we are talking about Quick to Listen and Slow to Speak

I can tell you first hand that it is hard to stand there and hear your child say mean ugly cruel things to you and do your best to respond with empathy. As a person with feelings my first instinct is to respond back with sharpness, and aim to hurt. As a parent of special needs girls I am faced with cruel mean ugly comments that are directed towards me (cause they are mad) on a regular basis. I understand after many years that these comments are really how my girls feel about their self and not how they feel about me.

I have to stop and remind myself to respond with but “I love you” or brain dead phases such as ‘thank you for letting me know how you feel” or ‘nice try sorry it didn’t work” “your words cannot hurt me God has his love wrapped me” these types of phases throw children off for they are not what they expected to hear from us. It gives us as parents time to regroup our thoughts and step back from the angry child. These phases if used can actually make us look stronger in the child’s eye than when we respond with angry that makes us look weak and out of control to the child. Now trust me I understand that this takes practice and it not easy all the time, but when we can use it, it really does help…

Reference verses

James 1:19-20

19 Wherefore, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath:20 For the wrath of man worketh not the righteousness of God.

Have you heard God’s voice today, if not he asked me to tell you that he loves you!!

2 thoughts on “Parenting with “God” Day 3

  1. I hear this a bit from my kids. My bio son in particular picks up things he hears at school and repeats them at home. He most of the time doesn’t understand what he’s saying, but brings them out at any time. Some of those things are pretty hurtful. Instead of getting bent out of shape, I take that as a time to help him understand what he said, and how it would hurt him if it was said to him. This helps my autie learn empathy, and how to speak more appropriately. The other 2, they blurt out things, but don’t parrot as much as the middle child.

    This also reminds me of how I used to be…I was a mouthy little girl who used to say mean things to my mom. She never rebuked me either. It took much longer to learn that what I said was hurtful, as no one bothered to tell me…no one said that it hurt them, so I kept on going.

    That was a very good post for today. I shared the verse with hubby, and he liked it as well. 🙂

    1. Dear Sunnypatchcottage, thank you for your comment that is so very true that we have to teach our children right from wrong and that these things hurt our feelings. I keep reminding my girls that they would not want those things said to them. I keep refering to the “Golden Rule” and have even showed them in the Bible where the golden rule came from. The “brain dead” pharses are great for the in the heat of the moment when those ugly things are comming out of their mouths and then once they are clam it is easier to speak with them about what they said. I wish you luck in your journey with your special one.. I am heref for support if you ever need some….. hope you vist back often.. I love your posting as well.

      Shirley

Leave a Reply

