Mental Illness part one: Defining Mental Illness

           How do we as humans define mental illness? In hearing other people talk it appears that some define a mental illness as thinking that the person is totally unable to function in society at all. And that if a person can function in society then they must not have a mental illness. I have always thought of a mental illness as being when a person’s mind did not work correctly and caused the person to think, feel and or behave differently than the average person. Some people can function better in certain areas than others, meaning that a person might do better in a work situation than in a social one, or it could be the other way around. Some people might be able to hold it together while in public however once at home fall apart and not able to handle much of anything. If we look up mental illness at dictionary.com it says: any disorder that causes the person to feel, think or act in a way that is abnormal to a point where it causes harm to them or others is considered a mental illness http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/mental+illness.

            Why is it that when mental illness is mentioned people pull away from you? As if one could actually catch a mental illness from another person. Why is a  person doubted if they say they have a family member who suffers with a mental illness just because no one (meaning society) has seen the other side of that person? There are many different types of mental illnesses and each one can cause a person to function differently in many situations. There are some mental illnesses that no one would ever know a person has, until that person was overwhelmed by a situation or their stress level reached the maximum level. Then the person you thought you knew would change right before your eyes. Would you still be friends with them once that happened? Would you stand by them and defend  them to other people who now where making fun of them and shunning them or would you be one of those people too?

            Mental illness can strike anyone at any age, yes there are some that are at a higher risk of having to deal with a mental illness than others but it can strike any one, family history or not. I am not an expert on mental illness. I am not a doctor, a therapist or even a counselor I am just a single mother of three children two of which suffer from a form of mental illness. My goal through these posts is to share my experience with you. My hope is that if you, yourself or someone you know may be dealing with a family member who has a mental illness. That you now know you are not alone that there is someone here who understands and can relate to you. With my next post I will try to start to explain our journey, please bear with me, this is a very personal journey and one that I would not have made it thus far in without God.

7 thoughts on “Mental Illness part one: Defining Mental Illness

  1. Mental illness can be defined a lot of ways. Like homosexuality is considered according to the DSM-IV an illness.

    Mental illness in America is a lot more predominant than folks believe. Is it a spiritual base, or an organic base? Sometimes one or the other, sometimes both. With a good solid spiritual base, it is much easier to handle the rest… I find this to be true with our family of special needs children.

    *hugs*

  2. I am not sure where you are getting your info, but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for great info I was looking for this info for my mission.

  3. I happen to be writing to make you be aware of what a perfect experience my girl had using your web page. She realized a good number of things, not to mention how it is like to have an amazing helping heart to get other people clearly learn certain grueling topics. You actually did more than her desires. Many thanks for coming up with those beneficial, dependable, explanatory and in addition unique guidance on the topic to Tanya.

    1. Thank you for your comment, mental illness in children is a special topic to me since I have 2 of my own. I know and fully understand how hard it is on the whole family not just the parent but the child it effects and other sibling as well. If there is anyway I could be of assistance to you and your daughter please contact me and I would be more than happy to speak with you.

      Shirley

    1. Hi Growing taller exercises ;

      Thank you for stopping by and reading this post. I would be happy to try to give you more information if you would tell me what you are looking for. I am not an expert just a moter of 2 special needs children.

Leave a Reply

